Blitzing Into The 2018- 2019 NFL Season

By Matthew Jones, Benjamin Rabinowitz and Sabrina Solla
SEPT 26, 2018

The NFL season has officially begun with all 32 teams playing their first games of the season. To kick it off, the Super Bowl Champions Philadelphia Eagles had a close win (18-12) over the Atlanta Falcons on Thursday. The highlights of the September 9, 2018, games were the Green Bay Packers impressive comeback over the Chicago Bears, and Ryan Fitzpatrick’s phenomenal game performance for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

The Bears were showing signs of an unexpected upset against the Packers when the Packers’ star quarterback Aaron Rodgers got carted off the field with a knee injury before the second half. At the end of the third quarter, the Bears were up 20-3, which was when Aaron Rodgers trotted back onto the field. At that point, things started to click for the Packers. Rodgers threw three touchdown passes giving the Packers a 24-23 victory. Packers’ fans were worried about whether or not Rodgers would be able to play in next week’s game. However, when Vikings’ head coach Mike Zimmer was asked whether he thought that Rodgers would play against his team next week, he said, “He walks on water so I’m sure he’s gonna play.” 

The Vince Lombardi trophy
in front of an American flag and helmet
Photo: Pixabay

Following the Packers versus Bears game, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers took on the New Orleans Saints. Because Tampa Bay’s quarterback Jameis Winston is currently suspended for violating the NFL’s personal conduct policy, quarterback Ryan Fitzpatrick had to lead a young Tampa team to victory against an experienced Saints team. Ryan stepped up and threw four touchdowns, 417 yards, and had a 75% pass completion. This gave Tampa the 48-40 win over the Saints.

The Detroit Lions took on the New York Jets prior to the final game of week one. Quarterback Sam Darnold started for the Jets, which made him the youngest starting quarterback in NFL history. He led his team to victory, whipping the Lions 48-17.

With week one complete, all 32 teams look forward to competing for their chance to win the Vince Lombardi Trophy which is awarded each year to the Super Bowl champions.